The International Mathematical Union (IMU)

The IMU is an international scientific organization, whose aim is to support and promote mathematics and mathematicians worldwide. It is a non-governmental and not-for-profit organization, representing approximately 90 member countries, and is a member of the International Science Council (ISC).

[Please click here for more information about the IMU]

The IMU oversees and convenes the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) every four years. The inaugural ICM was held in Zurich in 1897. At the ICM, the IMU presents some of the most prestigious awards in mathematics  –  the Fields Medal, the Nevanlinna Prize/Abacus Medal, the Gauss Prize, the Chern Medal, and the Leelavati Prize.

The centennial in Strasbourg

The IMU was officially established on 20 September 1920 in Strasbourg, just prior to the ICM in Strasbourg.

This conference celebrates the centennial of this historic event. The opening of the conference will take place in the same building that the 1920 ICM was held in Strasbourg.


Annalisa Buffa
Jean-Luc Dorier
Hélène Esnault
Étienne Ghys
Subhash Khot
Stéphane Mallat
Hiraku Nakajima
Laure Saint-Raymond
Norbert Schappacher
Stanislav Smirnov
Gang Tian
Ulrike Tillmann
Marcelo Viana

Scientific committee

Carlos Kenig
Nalini Anantharaman
Andrei Okounkov
Anna Wienhard

Organizing committee

Helge Holden
Philippe Helluy
Nalini Joshi
Bertrand Rémy
Günter M. Ziegler



Link to the registration page

Supported by


Grand Amphi Math Esplanade
7, rue René Descartes 67000 Strasbourg